Understanding violence against women

PosterviolEnglish2407Violence against women is a major social problem globally. The consequences of this violence against women may be long-lasting. Both rape and intimate partner violence like battering, which is frequenlty accompanied by physical and psychological abuse are associated with a host of both short and long-term problems.

There are many gaps in understanding violence against women. There is relatively little information about violence against women of color, lesbians, disabled, institutionalized and immigrant women. There are categorical lines like physical violence and sexula violence rather than on women’s experiences which includes different forms of violence.

In the field of intimate partner violence or battering, the problem of violence agaisnt women is frequently characterized as one of coercive control that is maintained by tactics such as psychological abuse, physical violence  and sexual violence.

Psychological abuse refers to psychological acts that cause psychological harm. Psychological abuse described the following categories of behavior as psychological abuse: verbal treats of abuse, harm or torture directed at the woman herself or at her family and friends. Isolation that separates a woman from her social support networks or denies her access to finances and other resources. Repeated threats of abandonment, divorce, or of initiating an affair if the woman does not comply with the abuser’s wishes.

Physical violence includes acts that are perceived as having the intention of producing physical harm or injury. Akin to intentionality is the consideration of the context of the act. It is commonly represented various behaviors like kicked, bit, or hit with a fist… pushed, grabbed, or shoved…threatened with a gun or knife… and hit or tried to hit with something.

Sexual abuse includes the behaviors specified the criteria for nonconsent, the individuals involved and who decides whether rape or sexual assault has occured. Sexual abuse broadening the definition to include sexual penetration of any rape, including anal, vagina, or oral penetration, whether by penis, fingers, or objects and focusing on the offender’s behavior rather than the victim’s resistance.

In contrast to these definitions, researchers in such as psychology, mental health and social work frequently consider VIOLENCE to cover a wider range of behaviors.

26 responses

  1. Hi Rizza, You are absolutely right in your definition of psychological abuse and there’s a lot more to the definition too. In case you, or any of your readers, want to know more about the problem, I write about psychological abuse on my website using research conducted with men who abuse women and research that shows how women cope with psychological abuse. Best wishes, Clare Murphy.

    May 27, 2009 at 10:53 am

  2. Great. It is an amazing blog. I been through many blogs on this subject but I found yours the most interesting.. I m glad that I went through your blog and I would like to congratulate you on your good work

    January 25, 2010 at 12:37 pm

  3. Just seen your web blog in digg today and I must say I like it! Bookmarked it and will be back to check it out some more later.

    March 16, 2010 at 10:37 pm

  4. Hi Bryce…… thanks for bookmarking my web-blog….. your appreciation inspires me to post more informative articles. I am planning to do another blog for those persons who love to travel and adventurous….. our place has lots of beautiful beaches, falls, caves….etc.
    Thanks again Bryce. God bless!

    March 18, 2010 at 8:41 am

  5. This article gives the light in which we can observe the reality. this is very nice one and gives in depth information. thanks for this nice article Good post…..Valuable information for all.I will recommend my friends to read this for sure…

    April 3, 2010 at 12:34 pm

  6. Talia

    This is a really good read for me, Must admit that you are one of the best bloggers I ever saw.Thanks for posting this informative article.

    April 3, 2010 at 3:40 pm

  7. Erika

    You gave nice ideas here. I done a research on the issue and learnt most peoples will agree with your blog.

    April 3, 2010 at 9:37 pm

  8. Hey, I found your blog in a new directory of blogs. I dont know how your blog came up, must have been a typo, anyway cool blog, I bookmarked you. 🙂

    established franchises for sale

    April 5, 2010 at 8:37 pm

  9. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts.Any way Ill be subscribing to your feed and I hope you post again soon

    April 8, 2010 at 8:27 am

  10. You got some great ideas there. I did a search on the issue and learnt most peoples will agree with your blog.

    April 13, 2010 at 4:13 pm

  11. Thanks for taking the time to talk about this, I feel strongly about it and I benefit from learning about this topic. Please, as you gain facts, please add to this blog with new information. I have found it extremely useful.

    April 20, 2010 at 6:31 am

  12. Hey I love your style I will subscribe for your feed please keep posting!

    April 24, 2010 at 4:01 pm

  13. Great detailed information, I ll be visiting you more frequently, here is very interesting information.

    May 2, 2010 at 1:27 pm

  14. I liked it too !!!

    May 7, 2010 at 7:19 pm

  15. You gave fantastic honest ideas here. I performed a research on the issue and discovered almost all peoples will agree with your blog.

    May 13, 2010 at 10:00 am

  16. You had great positive ideas there. I did a search on the issue and found nearly all peoples will agree with your blog.

    May 18, 2010 at 6:14 pm

  17. Hello,
    I go through your content entitled “Understanding violence against women …for a brighter shine”. It can be highly good; as a story book. Looking forward to an upgard.
    Regards,
    Kasey

    July 10, 2010 at 9:09 am

  18. A subject close to my heart thanks, do you have a RSS feed ?

    August 24, 2010 at 11:52 pm

  19. I enjoyed seeing this, i’ve been thinking about this for a while.

    August 25, 2010 at 12:06 am

  20. This article gives me the light in which we can observe the reality. This is very nice one and gives in depth information. Thanks for very much this nice article. Good post…..Valuable information for all.

    August 30, 2010 at 9:46 pm

  21. Men who threaten to take away the kids are engaging in post separation violence. It is common for batterers to threaten to take children away from the battered woman by proving her to be an unfit mother. For this reason, some lawyers advise women not to tell courts or mediators about child abuse or domestic abuse because, by doing so, they risk losing custody to the alleged abuser!

    September 1, 2010 at 9:49 pm

  22. Just keep making good content.

    November 10, 2010 at 7:58 pm

  23. This is a fantastic post cheers for sharing this informative information.. I will visit your web site regularly for some latest post. My best wishes, Karl.

    November 26, 2010 at 2:47 pm

  24. Pretty impressive post. I just came across your site and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts. Any way I’ll be coming back and I hope you post again soon.

    December 5, 2010 at 5:51 am

  25. thanks for this very good article

    December 12, 2010 at 11:42 pm

  26. wpolscemamymocneseo

    Aw, this was a very nice post. In concept I want to put in writing like this moreover – taking time and actual effort to make a very good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate alot and under no circumstances seem to get something done.

    January 12, 2011 at 9:51 am

Leave a Reply

